Stream or download Jocasta – ‘Ideas Are Bulletproof’

❉ ’90s indie band’s B-Sides and demos collection – out now, for the first time in 23 years!

“There’s no flesh or blood within this cloak to kill. There’s only an idea. Ideas are bulletproof.” – V for Vendetta by Alan Moore

Singer, songwriter, showman, composer, multi-instrumentalist and producer Tim Arnold’s first musical incarnation was as lead singer, songwriter and chief architect of 90’s rock band ‘Jocasta’.

Ideas Are Bulletproof  is a collection of the band’s B-sides and demos that are now available for the first time since 1997.  It’s also a catalogue of the first songs Tim ever wrote.

Jocasta only released one album (No Coincidence, Sony 1997) before Tim progressed into a solo career. The band also released half a dozen singles that were each backed with B-sides. The recordings demonstrate both the range of Tim’s writing (age 18), and the diverse musical spectrum created by bassist Andy Lewis, lead guitarist Jack Reynolds and drummer (and later, founder of Soho Radio) Adrian Meehan .

Similarly to the title of the band’s debut album No Coincidence, Ideas Are Bulletproof is also a quote from cult English writer Alan Moore. The lyrics in the album’s first track The Land Of Do As You Please paraphrases Moore’s V For Vendetta comic. In the song, Arnold references a tyrannical British government and a passionate call to anarchy.

All the tracks were produced by the band themselves, with long serving Radiohead sound engineer, Jim Warren (who famously produced High and Dry). Songs like Clean Ash chronicle 90s Soho, whilst Swings and Roundabouts point towards the singer-songwriter direction Arnold would later take with solo albums Another World and I Am For You.. Mesmerizing Milla was written in the studio after Arnold was found by the band staring catatonically at a photograph of actress Milla Jovavich.

Track Listing:

1 The Land Of Do As You Please
2 Try It (Demo)
3 Don’t Know When To Stop
4 Swings And Roundabouts
5 Trapped (Demo)
6 Not Related
7 Stop To Think
8 The Skin We’re In
9 Only No One
10 Clean Ash
11 Best Of Both Worlds
12 Relativity
13 The Apple & The Strawberry
14 Portion Of My Heart
15 Mesmerizing Milla

❉ ‘Ideas Are Bullet Proof’ is available to stream or download here.

❉ News source: T/A Music.

❉ We Are Cult is not responsible for the content of this news release

Become a patron at Patreon!