Black Archive schedule for 2023 announced!

❉ Obverse Books have announced their schedule of new Black Archive books for 2022-23.

In 2023 Obverse Books will release six new Black Archive books on Doctor Who stories from 1964 to 2021, including titles from returning authors Ian Potter and Simon Guerrier.

The Black Archives are Obverse Books’ acclaimed series of critical monographs, each looking at one individual story from Doctor Who from 1963 to the present day.

Next year’s Archives will focus on the first and most recent decades of Doctor Who, with books on The Edge of Destruction, The Myth Makers and The Faceless Ones, and on The Girl Who Died, Ascension of the Cybermen / The Timeless Children and Flux.

February 2023 sees a departure from our usual monograph structure, with an anthology of essays on the season-long 2021 story Flux, edited by Paul Driscoll.

Seven authors, including both newcomers and some of our most popular contributors, give their thoughts on the six-episode saga, as follows:

Introduction and Conclusion by Alasdair Stuart

‘The Halloween Apocalypse’ by James Cooray Smith

‘War of the Sontarans’ by Emma Reed

‘Once, Upon Time’ by Philip Purser-Hallard

‘Village of the Angels’ by Oliver Tompkins

‘Survivors of the Flux’ by James Mortimer

‘The Vanquishers’ by Matt Hills.

In April, Norse specialist Tom Marshall examines the 2015 Viking historical The Girl Who Died, while in June Ian Potter, author of our book on Carnival of Monsters, delves further back into legend and history for 1966’s The Myth Makers.

In August we return to the Jodie Whittaker era for Ryan Bradley’s look at the controversial two-parter Ascension of the Cybermen / The Timeless Children.

In October 2023, we mark the approaching 60th anniversary of Doctor Who with a book on its third ever story. Popular Doctor Who author Simon Guerrier, whose earlier Black Archive on The Evil of the Daleks remains one of our bestselling titles, returns to examine 1964’s The Edge of Destruction.

Finally, in December, Joseph Oldham investigates the 1967 story The Faceless Ones.

A selection of covers from The Black Archive, a series of critical books on individual Doctor Who stories from 1963 to the present day.

We have further titles commissioned some way beyond 2023, covering all decades of Doctor Who and including at least one Christmas special. In the meantime, here’s the remaining schedule for 2022-23 in full:


❉ August 2022 – The Black Archive 61: The Sun Makers by Lewis Baston

❉ October 2022 – The Black Archive 62: Paradise Towers by John Toon

❉ December 2022 – The Black Archive 62: Kinda by Frank Collins

❉ February 2023 – The Black Archive #63: Flux edited by Paul Driscoll

❉ April 2023 – The Black Archive #64: The Girl Who Died by Tom Marshall

❉ June 2023 – The Black Archive #65: The Myth Makers by Ian Potter

❉ August 2023 – The Black Archive #66: Ascension of the Cybermen / The Timeless Children by Ryan Bradley

❉ October 2023 – The Black Archive #67: The Edge of Destruction by Simon Guerrier

❉ December 2023 – The Black Archive #68: The Faceless Ones by Joseph Oldham.


❉ Book-length investigations of single Doctor Who stories, The Black Archives are published by Obverse Books:  Buy Black Archive books from the Obverse Books website!

❉ News source: The Black Archives Facebook

❉ We Are Cult is not responsible for the content of this news release.

Become a patron at Patreon!